Preview: 2020 Alberta Mens Mid Amateur Championship

Coyote Creek Golf and RV Resort. Photo Credit: Travel Alberta

Alberta Golf (Sundre)

The 2020 Alberta Mens Mid Amateur championship is set to begin Tuesday as 118 players 25-and-over compete for a provincial championship.

Competitors will play 54 holes at Coyote Creek Golf and RV Resort in Sundre, Alberta. After the 2nd round the field will be cut to low 60 players and ties for Thursday’s final round.



Dates: June 23 – 25th

Course: Coyote Creek Golf and RV Resort

Yards/Par: 6,662 – Par 71

Field: 118

2019 champion: Jesse Galvon

Format: 54 holes of stroke play with a 36-hole cut to the low 60 and ties

Social: #abmidam


It was very wet conditions in 2019 for the final round of the Alberta Mens Mid Amateur Championship at Earl Grey Golf Club in Calgary.

Jesse Galvon of the Glencoe Golf and CC had a 4 shot lead to start the day and extended it to 6 shots by the turn but once the weather started turning Galvon gave 4 shots back in a 5 hole stretch. Great play by Bearspaw’s Emmett Oh on the back nine created some big time drama. Oh birdied the 16th hole to get within 1 but had birdie putts on 17 and 18 just slide by.

Galvon stepped up and drained a birdie putt on 18 for a 2 shot victory.

The 31 year old won his first ever Alberta Mid Amateur title.

1 on 1 with 2019 Champion Jesse Galvon



The Alberta Mid Amateur Championship was first contested in 1986. Originally designed for the best players aged 40 and over the championship transitioned in 2015 to include those aged 25 and over to align with other provincial, national and international Mid Amateur competitions. There is a Mid Master contest for those aged 40 and over.

2013 – Alan Stewart

2014 – Frank Van Dornick

2015 – Kevin Temple

2016 – Jordan Irwin

2017 – Neil Thomas

2018 – Brandon Markiw

2019 – Jesse Galvon


  • Jesse Galvon – Defending Champion
  • Brandon Markiw – Champion (2018)
  • Kevin Temple – Champion (2007, 2010, 2015)
  • Brian Laubman – Champion (2005)
  • Senan Foley – Champion (2008)
  • Ken Griffith – Alberta Mens Senior Champion (2019)
  • Tom McKinlay Jr – Four-time Mid Amateur Interprovincial Team Member


This year’s tournament will be played under Covid-19 protocols. Some of the main competition changes from year’s past will be leaving the flagstick in at all times and offering free relief from disturbed areas in bunkers.

Here is a link to our Covid-19 Competitions Information Booklet


Coyote Creek Golf and RV Resort


The Field and First Round Tee Times